Rules Guy: My divot stopped a ball in motion. Is that a penalty?

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

My playing partner stubbed his chip shot from the deep rough around the collar of the green. The ball was rolling slowly toward the pin. In a fit of pique, he banged his club into the collar, dislodging a large piece of turf which flew onto the green and hit the rolling ball, stopping it in its tracks. It would probably have rolled only another foot otherwise. Still, is it a penalty? —Cornelius Marx, New York, New York

It certainly feels like it should be, more for the damage to the course than the eventual deflected stroke.

Nonetheless, unless the Committee sees creating this damage as serious misconduct under Rule 1.2a (which would mean disqualification), the accidental deflection stands without penalty, and Mr. Angry Stubby plays the ball as it lies, under Rule 11.1.

As an aside, Cornelius, Rules Guy very much appreciated “in a fit of pique,” and should we ever take a much-needed vacation will reach out to you to ghostwrite this column in our absence.

Golfer hitting ball off tee
Rules Guy: My ball fell off the tee mid-swing. Do I have to take a penalty for hitting a ball in motion?
By: Rules Guy

For more guidance from our guru, read on …

During a practice round, the ball moved while I was at the top of my backswing. I continued my swing and executed the intended punch shot, but in a tournament round would that be a penalty and, if so, what? —Preston Scott, Tallahassee, Fla.

First, the good news: When the ball moves after the backswing has begun and the stroke is completed, there is no penalty for playing a moving ball and you play the ball from wherever the stroke comes to rest. Thank Rule 9.1b for that.

The potential bad news/caveat: If it were your actions that caused the ball to move, you’re still potentially on the hook for one penalty stroke under Rule 9.4b.

Want to find the right gear for your bag in 2025? Find a club-fitting location near you at True Spec Golf.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

The post Rules Guy: My divot stopped a ball in motion. Is that a penalty? appeared first on Golf.